Experience Live Classical Performances Once Again with Singapore Symphony Orchestra’s May and June Programme Lineup!

How long has it been since you last stepped into a concert hall or theatre to enjoy a performance? The lush seats and an interior that just screams grandeur, the lilting music filling the chamber — all these feels like memories from a distant past, what with the many restrictions still in place for live events, right? 

Singapore Symphony Orchestra: Team
An exciting programme lineup that brings back live performances for lovers of classical music!

But with Singapore Symphony Orchestra (SSO)’s upcoming May and June programmes comes an opportunity to attend a live concert once again! Featuring the SSO debut of conducting sensation Gábor Káli and pianist Dénes Várjon, SSO’s first outdoor performance since March 2020, and the Brass Ensemble of the SSO third ever concert.

To give you some background information one some of the performers, pianist Dénes Várjon, winner of Hungary’s most prestigious accolade, the Kossuth Prize, will be making his debut performance in Singapore along with Gábor Káli, winner of multiple prestigious awards as well such as the Salzburg Young Conductors Award in 2018.

So, without further ado, here’s the programme lineup:

Mozart in Minor 

Date: Friday, 7 May 2021
Time: 7.30pm.
Venue: Esplanade Concert Hall
Tickets: $88, $68, $48, $28

Available from 10am on 23 April on SSO’s website

Singapore Symphony Orchestra: Dénes Várjon
Pianist Dénes Várjon is the winner of Hungary’s most prestigious accolade, the Kossuth Prize

The talented virtuosic duo pianist Dénes Várjon and conductor Gábor Káli will bring the audience on Mozart’s fascinating exploration of the depths of feeling and symphonic power in their performance Mozart in Minor.

The pieces performed in Mozart in Minor include the revered Mozart Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor, K. 491, Mozart Symphony No. 25 in G minor, K. 183 (the one that opens the musical Amadeus)  and Symphony, K. 16a “Odense” (attr. Mozart) — whose actual composer remains a mystery!

SSO Mother Day’s Concert 

Date: Sunday, 9 May 2021
Time: 6.00pm
Venue: Bandstand at Singapore Botanic Gardens 
Tickets: Free but registration is required. The audience is capped at 100. Registration opens at 10am on 29 April. Details will be released on the SSO website.

Singapore Symphony Orchestra: Mother's Day Concert
A perfect way to celebrate Mother’s Day, experience an intimate performance with your loved ones

With Mother’s Day right around the corner, you might be wondering what to do for your mom. Well, if she enjoys music, why not bring her down to Botanic Gardens to enjoy an intimate evening of heart-warming string quartet music, live among the flowers and beside your loved ones. 

With pieces carefully chosen to fit the garden setting, such as DELIBES Flower Duet from Lakmé (arr. Martelli for string quartet), and the ever-iconic MONTI Czardas (arr. Karaca for string quartet), it is undoubtedly a perfect way to show your love for your mom.

Mozart in Major

Date: Friday, 14 May and Saturday, 15 May 2021
Time: 7.30pm
Venue: Esplanade Concert Hall
Tickets: $88, $68, $48, $28

Available from 10am on 23 April on SSO’s website

Singapore Symphony Orchestra: Gábor Káli
Gábor Káli, one of the world’s most promising young conductors and winner of several prestigious prizes such as the Salzburg Young Conductors Award in 2018

The musical journey of Mozart continues as the Hungarian maestros Dénes Várjon and Gábor Káli come together again in an exuberant evening with Mozart’s all-major key programme. Pieces that will be performed include Cassation in B-flat major, K. 99, which was written when Mozart was just 13! Truly a musical prodigy, this piece is a musical divertimento of assured and soulful elegance.

Other pieces also include  Piano Concerto No.12 in A major, K. 414, and Symphony No. 34 in C major, K. 338.

A 20th Century Fanfare

Date: Friday, 4 June 2021
Time: 7.30pm
Venue: Esplanade Concert Hall 
Tickets: $88, $68, $48, $28

Available from 10am on 23 April on SSO’s website

Singapore Symphony Orchestra: Brass Ensemble
The Brass Ensemble of SSO is back for their third-ever concert appearance

Back for their third-ever concert appearance, The Brass Ensemble of SSO will be live on stage with SSO’s Chief Conductor Hans Graf, to bring you on an intriguing exploration of brass music by four 20th century masters.

Singapore Symphony Orchestra: Hans Graf
Hans Graf, SSO’s Chief Conductor

Fanfares heralding mythical majesty and clarion courage frames a shimmering Japanese meditation in the rain and Hindemith’s challenging Op. 49 for brass, solo piano and two harps.

So, for all classical music lovers, or those who just miss a live musical performance, don’t miss this chance! 
For more information, do visit Singapore Symphony Orchestra’s official website!

Visuals courtesy of Singapore Symphony Orchestra.

Wan Xin Ng

A film student who loves cats, books and games!

Related Articles

Back to top button